Skip to content

Board Overview

School board

Purpose: The School Board exists for the purpose of a governing system for providing a free, public education in grades K-12 for children within the boundaries of the Indianapolis Public School Corporation. ref. I.C. 20-26-5-1. The Board of School Commissioners of the City of Indianapolis are located at 120 E. Walnut Street, Indianapolis, Indiana 46204. They can be contacted by phone at 317-226-4418. All agenda review and action session meetings of the board will be held in the Board Room of the John Morton-Finney Center for Educational Services unless otherwise noticed. All work sessions and board retreats will be held at an off site school location as noticed and listed on the district calendar.

For questions or notices for the Board of School Commissioners of the City of Indianapolis, please contact the Board Administrator, Leslie-Ann James.

Board Commissioners

Electorate Map

Electorate Districts

  • Anna Brochhausen School 88
  • Arsenal Technical High School
  • Center for Inquiry School 2
  • Christian Park School 82
  • George W. Julian School 57
  • Harshman Middle School
  • IPS Career Technology Center
  • Paul I. Miller School 114
  • Ralph Waldo Emerson School 58
  • Theodore Potter School 74
  • Thomas Gregg Neighborhood School
  • Urban Act Academy at Washington Irving 14
  • Arlington Middle School
  • Arlington Woods School 99
  • Brookside School 54
  • Center for Inquiry School 27
  • Charles Warren Fairbanks School 105
  • Francis Bellamy School 102
  • George S. Buck School 94
  • James Russell Lowell School 51
  • Phalen Leadership Academy at Francis Scott Key 103
  • Phalen Leadership Academy at George H. Fisher 93
  • Robert Lee Frost School 106
  • Thrival Indy Academy
  • Avondale Meadows Middle School
  • Center for Inquiry School 70
  • Center for Inquiry School 84
  • Eliza A. Blaker School 55
  • Floro Torrence School 83
  • Francis W. Parker School 56
  • IPS/Butler University Laboratory School 60
  • James Whitcomb Riley School 43
  • Kindezi Academy at Joyce Kilmer 69
  • KIPP Indy College Prep Middle School
  • KIPP Indy Unite Elementary School
  • Louis B. Russell Jr. School 48
  • Rousseau McClellan School 91
  • Shortridge High School
  • Sidener Academy for High Ability Students
  • Daniel Webster School 46
  • Edison School of the Arts 47
  • Eleanor Skillen School 34
  • Emma Donnan Elementary School
  • George Washington High School
  • Henry W. Longfellow Medical/STEM Middle School 28
  • James A. Garfield School 31
  • Purdue Polytechnic High School
  • Raymond F. Brandes School 65
  • Simon Youth Academy
  • Stephen Foster School 67
  • SUPER School 19
  • Matchbox Learning at Wendell Phillips 63
  • William McKinley School 39
  • William Penn School 49
  • Carl Wilde School 79
  • Clarence Farrington School 61
  • Cold Spring School
  • Crispus Attucks High School
  • Enlace Academy
  • Ernie Pyle School 90
  • George Washington Carver School 87
  • Global Preparatory Academy at Riverside 44
  • Herron High School
  • Ignite Achievement Academy at Elder Diggs 42
  • Jonathan Jennings School 109
  • Lew Wallace School 107
  • Meredith Nicholson School 96
  • Newcomer Program
  • Northwest Middle School
  • Riverside High School

School Board Schedule


Diversity Statement

Indianapolis Public Schools is an equal employment opportunity school corporation which strives to deliver educational excellence, equitable access and quality service to our students and families. IPS recognizes the educational and social value of human differences and their various forms. IPS is committed to an inclusive approach which affirms and embraces all aspects of diversity. We are strengthened by our unique knowledge, experiences, interests, hopes, challenges, cultures, traditions and families. We engage families as partners in education through trusting relationships built on culturally responsive two-way communication and mutual respect. Recognizing our diversity, we are committed to equity in all of our work. We seek to allocate resources to eliminate discrimination and disparities. We strive to eliminate prejudice, bigotry and intolerance and bridge gaps between and among our diverse students, families, staff and communities. Our approach to diversity and commitment to fairness ensures that the students we serve are empowered to succeed in college, career, military and life.