If it’s taught in the Indianapolis Public Schools district, whether to students or employees, then Curriculum and Instruction had a hand in planning it. Obviously, being over curriculum means our curriculum coaches and district media specialists help plan how ELA, Math, Science, Social Studies, World Languages, ESL and Pre-K courses are taught and how instruction is made available. But we’re also deeply involved in our employees’ professional development. We conduct new teacher induction coaching. We manage Title II grant matters involving the preparing, training and recruiting of high quality teachers and principals. And we maintain and offer a variety of professional development opportunities for all IPS employees. Our students and employees can turn to us with all their instructional needs, and we are happy to serve them.

Additional Curriculum Resources

Contact Information

  • Administrative Team
    • Jessica Dunn – Interim Curriculum Officer – 317-226-3545
    • Amanda Koth – Director of Instructional Design & Support – kotha@myips.org
    • Marlene Hogue – Administrative Specialist – 317-226-3545
  • English/Language Arts
    • K-6 English/Language Arts
      • Melinda Blackmer – blackmermelinda@myips.org
      • Denise Wilson – wilsondm@myips.org
      • Kathy Herald – Heraldk@myips.org
    • 7-12 English/Language Arts
      • Julia Goldburg – Goldburgj@myips.org
      • Christina Layton – LaytonCr@myips.org
      • Felicia Sears – garciaf@myips.org
  • High Ability
    • Candace Huehls – High Ability Coordinator – huehlsca@myips.org
  • Fine Arts
    • David Newman – Fine Arts Content Specialist – newmand@myips.org
  • English as a Second Language
  • Mathematics
    • K-6 Mathematics
      • Kathy Jones – jonesk@myips.org – 317-226-3797
      • Nick Meyer – meyern@myips.org – 317-226-3796
    • 7-12 Mathematics
      • Stephanie Todd – todds@myips.org
      • Mike Roach – roachm@myips.org
      • Peggy Boulden – bouldenp@myips.org
  • Physical Education
    • Kathy Langdon langdonk@myips.org 317. 226.3487
  • Science
    • Ashlee Scherwinski – K-12 Science Content Specialist/Coach – Scherwinskia@myips.org
  • Social Studies & World Languages
    • Eric Heagy – heagye@myips.org — 317-226-3630