April 28,


The Indianapolis Public
Schools’ Center for Inquiry Schools 2, 27 and 84 have each been named a
National Magnet School of Distinction by Magnet Schools of America, the
national association for magnet and theme-based schools.


To receive a national
merit award, members of Magnet Schools of America must submit a detailed
application that is scored by a panel of educators. These schools are judged
and scored on their demonstrated ability to raise student academic achievement,
promote racial and socioeconomic diversity, provide integrated curricula and
instruction, and create strong family and community partnerships that enhance
the school’s magnet theme.


“The IPS Centers for Inquiry are long
known for their high expectations around student learning and their reverence
for quality education,” said Greg Newlin, IPS academic improvement officer. “As
members of one collective choice program, each school is diligent in its
pursuit of excellence in equity, citizenship and education. Being
recognized as a Magnet School of Distinction provides just one affirmation to
the collective CFI-school family that their philosophy, tireless work ethic,
community support and relentless journey to provide students with the absolute
best inquiry-based education is paying dividends to their students, to IPS, and
to the larger community.”   


Principals Andrea Hunley
(CFI School 2), Brandi Herbert (CFI School 27) and Kathleen Miller (CFI School
84) are being recognized and will receive a National Magnet School of Distinction
Merit Award on behalf of the schools. They are being honored during an awards
ceremony held at Magnet Schools of America’s 35th National
Conference on Magnet Schools, hosted by Los Angeles Unified School District in
Los Angeles, Calif., April 26-30, 2017.