Updated Jan. 9, 2016

 New and Returning Commissioners

On Monday, Jan. 9, three new Commissioners officially joined the IPS Board of School Commissioners. On the Board’s Organization Day, an IPS parent, an Arlington High School graduate and a former Board president were welcomed to the team.

Indianapolis Mayor Joe Hogsett led the swearing in of incumbents Michael O’Connor and Diane Arnold, along with new Commissioners Elizabeth Gore, Dorene Rodriguez Hoops and Venita Moore. Mayor Hogsett has shown great support for IPS during his first year in office; in addition to his encouragement of Innovation Network Schools including Purdue Polytechnic High School, Mayor Hogsett took part in the grand opening ceremonies for Global Prep Academy and Edison School of the Arts.

“I think the two most difficult elected positions in all of government, big and small – state federal or local…are the mayor of any city, big or small, and to be an elected member of a school board,” said Mayor Hogsett. “The decisions you make here profoundly impact not only the students that attend IPS today, but the decisions that you make here in your capacity as Board commissioners and as leaders of this great school corporation profoundly impact the future of this great city. Nothing smaller than that is at stake, and nothing greater than that can be as important.”

Dorene Rodriguez Hoops will serve District 5 on the city’s northwest side. She was selected by the Board in December to fill the vacancy after the resignation of former Commissioner LaNier Echols. Hoops is a Center for Inquiry School 27 parent and an advocate for special education services.

Elizabeth Gore won the November 2016 election for the district’s at-large seat. A graduate of Crispus Attucks High School, Gore previously served as President of the Board of School Commissioners. She also led the PTA at Arsenal Technical High School when her children attended.

Venita Moore was elected to the District 2 seat in November 2016. She is a graduate of Arlington High School and is a partner at a business consulting firm. Moore previously served as the deputy secretary for the Indiana Family and Social Services Administration.

“This is an exciting time for IPS,” said Board President Mary Ann Sullivan. “We have a committed group of commissioners with strong personal ties to the district. I look forward to another year of productive collaboration. We are also excited to have Mayor Joe Hogsett swear-in our new and returning members. We appreciate the support of Mayor Hogsett and look forward to continuing to partner with his administration to ensure that every student in Indianapolis succeeds.”

President Sullivan was elected by her colleagues to serve a second term as leader of the Board. Returning Commissioner Michael O’Connor will serve as Vice President this year, and Commissioner Elizabeth Gore will serve as Secretary of the Board.

“I am excited about being on the board and having the opportunity to help make decisions for policy as well as to help direct the district for quality education for our children,” said Commissioner Gore. “Education is not a game, and it’s very important that we make sure our children get the best education; looking at our Board, I know that that’s what we’ll do.”

“We have a heck of a lot of work to do this year,” said Commissioner Kelly Bentley. “Some of it’s not going to be easy, but I look forward to working together to make decisions in the best interest of our city and our students.”