Corye Franklin Named New Principal of Arsenal Tech H.S.

Corye Franklin 

Arsenal Technical H.S. Principal

(June 28, 2018) Indianapolis Public Schools announces Corye Franklin as the new principal of Arsenal Technical High School, the district’s largest high school, beginning with the 2018-19 school year.

Franklin most recently served as principal of William Penn School 49 (Grades Pre-K through 7) IPS’ largest elementary school, where he led his team in raising standardized test scores and the school’s letter grade from a D to a B.

Franklin’s educational experience also includes serving as a teacher and administrator in Wayne and Lawrence Township schools and Anderson Community Schools.

He received his undergraduate degree from Indiana University, a master’s degree from Indiana Wesleyan University and is currently pursuing a PhD at Indiana Wesleyan University. 

“Corye Franklin has been an excellent leader in IPS,” said Aleesia Johnson, IPS Deputy Superintendent for Academics. “He’s demonstrated exceptional instructional leadership and expertise in his prior work and we are confident in his ability to bring that same level of expertise and high-quality leadership to Arsenal Tech.”

As principal, Franklin will oversee the high school’s programs and academies, including New Tech, the Career Technology Center (CTC), Math & Science and Law & Public Policy programs, and the new Construction, Engineering & Design Academy.

“I am humbled and thrilled to lead Arsenal Technical High School. The opportunity to serve our children and families is most rewarding,” said Principal Franklin. “I firmly believe that every student deserves high-quality instruction through authentic learning experiences and that includes educating the entire child and ensuring that they are prepared for enrollment, enlistment, or employment.”

Last year, the IPS Board of School Commissioners approved the new all-Choice high school model with four reinvented high schools. Beginning with the 2018-19 school year, each school will specialize in College- and Career-Themed Academies in addition to existing Choice programming – offering students a more rewarding and engaging academic experience. Students will now be able to choose a high school based on their desired area of study and not where they live.

Leadership for the remaining schools include:

Crispus Attucks High School – Principal Lauren Franklin

George Washington High School – Principal Stan Law

Shortridge High School – Principal Shane O’Day