The Indiana Department of Education announced the 2020 Indiana Teacher of the Year nominees and Ethan Hoffman, a teacher with Indianapolis Public Schools, is among the educators who made the list.

The announcement was made Friday, July 19.

Hoffman, a math teacher with the Newcomer Program, was named the 2020 IPS Teacher of the Year during the district’s invitation-only ceremony in May at the Indiana History Center.

Each year, the IDOE conducts the Indiana Teacher of the Year (INTOY) program to recognize outstanding classroom teachers throughout the state. One person is chosen to represent Indiana teachers at the national level.

The 61 nominees will be whittled down to the Top 25 and eventually to the Top 10 finalists.

The winner will be announced in the fall.

For a complete list of nominees, click here.