Indianapolis Public Schools is proud to have a strong community of magnet programs, and we’re thrilled to announce national recognition for some of our amazing schools! Magnet Schools of America (MSA) sponsors the National Merit Awards program, which recognizes the top magnet schools in the United States. To be eligible for these awards, magnet schools must demonstrate a commitment to innovation, high academic standards, diversity and overall high quality educational services.

Our three magnet schools receiving MSA recognition are:

  • Center for Inquiry School 2: Magnet School of Excellence
  • Rousseau McClellan School 91: Magnet School of Distinction
  • Theodore Potter School 74: Magnet School of Distinction

“It is an honor to see the students and staff being recognized for their continued hard work and effort,” said Theodore Potter Principal Tim Clevenger. “It is well deserved.”

More than 300 schools nationwide were considered for the MSA awards, and we couldn’t be more proud of the IPS schools selected for the honors.

“Our unique approach to teaching and learning is not always evidenced in a simplistic letter grade based on one standardized assessment,” said CFI 2 Principal Andrea Hunley. “We appreciate the MSA because a panel of educators determines and scores our school on rigorous criteria (including student achievement, parental involvement and development of our magnet theme). For us, this is the gold standard.”

This is the latest in a series of accolades for the Montessori students and staff at Rousseau McClellan. Principal Margi Higgs is proud of her school’s six consecutive MSA awards, as well as the National Blue Ribbon Award in 2008.

All three schools will be honored at the MSA conference this spring in Raleigh, North Carolina. We are also excited to announce our three CFI principals were selected to give a presentation at the conference to share their strategies for building, growing and sustaining successful magnet programs. We’re glad to see IPS represented strongly at this national event!