Skip to content

IPS Board of School Commissioners Selects Leadership for 2024

During a Special-Called Board Meeting, on Thursday, Jan. 11, the Indianapolis Public Schools (IPS) Board of School Commissioners unanimously elected Angelia Moore as the governing body’s president for 2024.

Moore is an at-large member who previously served as vice president in 2023. With a long resume in K-12 education, Moore has a deep connection to IPS. Not only is she an IPS graduate and mother of three IPS graduates and one current student, but she is also a former member of the district administration. 

She succeeds Venita Moore, who represents District 2. 

Kenneth Allen, an at-large commissioner, was elected vice president, and Nicole Carey, representing District 5, was elected board secretary. 

 Allen is a certified child and youth care worker with the Indiana Youth Services Association and oversees their statewide anti-human trafficking awareness initiative. He is also the chair of the Indiana Commission on the Social Status of Black Males (ICSSBM). He is a board member for the Indianapolis chapter of Indiana Black Expo Inc.  

Carey founded Indy Equity Collaborative, an organization committed to helping schools and companies create equitable and inclusive environments. She is also the proud mom of five children, three of whom are school-age and attend IPS.  

Other members rounding out the IPS Board of School Commissioners include Will Pritchard, who represents District 1, Diane Arnold, District 4; and Hope Hampton, District. 3.