Updated 1:20 p.m. January 8, 2016





State law requires school
boards to hold an organizational meeting in the first 15 days of the new year
to elect a President, Vice President, and Secretary. The IPS Board of School Commissioners
held its 2016 organizational meeting on January 8 at 11:00 a.m.


Previous Board President
Diane Arnold announced that she is stepping down as board president, consistent
with the past practice that a commissioner does not hold the gavel during an
election year in which their seat is on the ballot. Commissioner Mary Ann
Sullivan was unanimously elected Board President for 2016.


Previous Board
Vice President Sam Odle and Secretary LaNier Echols were elected to continue
serving in their respective roles.

the meeting, the board also reappointed the district’s treasurer, Chief
Financial Manager Weston Young and deputy treasurers Paul Carpenter Wilson and
Pat Niland. The Board confirmed its 2016 meeting schedule, which can be viewed here. Board Commissioners look forward to continuing to
build on the current school year that has included raising teacher
pay, embracing a core set of values and adopting a comprehensive
three-year strategic plan that will guide IPS to future successes for our students,
families, educators and staff.