(Jan. 8, 2018) – New leadership takes over on the Indianapolis Public Schools Board after new officers were elected tonight during the annual Organizational Meeting.

Michael O’Connor was elected President of the Board of School Commissioners. He follows Mary Ann Sullivan, who served in the position for the last two years. He was elected vice president in 2017. O’Connor was appointed to the District 1 seat in 2015 and elected in 2016. He is the senior director of state government affairs at Eli Lilly and Company and a former Indianapolis deputy mayor under Mayor Bart Peterson.

“My pledge to my colleagues, our students and our families is continued commitment to our strategic plan, and to make sure that each student has the opportunity for a world class education available to them,” said O’Connor. “I promise I will continue to push change. We will work hard and we will be open and transparent with our decisions and our processes. We will work in partnership with Dr. Ferebee and his entire team as we continue to make the Indianapolis Public Schools System one that we are proud of every day.”

Venita Moore was elected vice president and will replace Commissioner O’Connor in the role. She won the District 2 seat in November 2016. She is a graduate of Arlington High School and is a managing principal at Engaging Solutions, a business consulting firm. Moore is also an inductee to the IPS Alumni Hall of Fame and previously served as deputy secretary for the Indiana Family and Social Services Administration.

“I look forward to continuing my work with the Board, administration, families and community to ensure IPS becomes the best practice for education,” said Moore.

Elizabeth Gore was re-elected secretary for the second consecutive year. Gore won the November 2016 election for one of the district’s at-large seats. Gore is a graduate of Crispus Attucks High School and has previously served as President of the Board of School Commissioners. She also led the Parent Teacher Association at Arsenal Technical High School when her children attended.

Commissioners Sullivan (At-Large), Kelly Bentley (District 3), Diane Arnold (District 4) and Dorene Hoops (District 5) round out the Board and will continue the work of the district under the new leadership.