Updated: 05.06.16 09:43 

The Hubbard
Life-Changing Teacher
and School Leadership Awards finalists
have been announced.

Hubbard Education Award

For more than 20 years, Indianapolis residents Al and Kathy Hubbard have
served as major supporters of the schools and programs within IPS. Partnering
with United Way of Central Indiana (UWCI),
the Hubbards have committed up to $400,000 annually to honor exceptional
teachers and principals within our district.

The following finalists will be honored at an invitation-only dinner at
the Eiteljorg Museum
Wednesday, May 18 from 6:30-9 pm:



  • Carter
    Bell, Rousseau McClellan School 91
  • Maggie
    Brown, Project SITE
  • Cassie
    Davis-Woodall, Key Learning Community
  • Daphne
    Draa, Center for Inquiry School 2
  • Para Lee
    Gale, Charles Fairbanks School 105
  • La Meca
    Perkins-Knight, Theodore Potter School 74
  • Rebecca
    Pfaffenberger, Rousseau McClellan School 91
  • Antonia
    Powell, Arlington Woods School 99
  • Marleen
    Signer, McFarland School
  • Stella
    Vandivier, Marion County Jail School





  • Ami
    Anderson, ROOTS
  • Julie Bakehorn,
    Arsenal Technical High School
  • Christine
    Collier, Center for Inquiry 84
  • Margaret
    Higgs, Rousseau McClellan School 91



“There are and have been so many good principals in IPS that I am very
honored to be considered for this exciting award,” said Margaret Higgs,
principal at Rousseau McClellan School 91. “I am retiring this year
after 43 years, so it is even more special to me to be a finalist with the
other three great principals being honored this year.”


In addition to Higgs, two of Rousseau McClellan’s teachers are finalists
as well.


“I learned that
my teachers had been selected to be finalists before I was selected. I am
so proud these two have been recognized, first through their
nominations and then by being chosen as top 10 finalists,” said
Higgs. “I was very honored that we would have two teachers as
finalists as they represent the quality of our staff. I have a
very dedicated staff who strongly believe in the Montessori philosophy and
instructional method. … I want to especially thank Al and Kathy Hubbard for
providing us this great honor.”


During the awards program, four outstanding teachers will be
selected to receive $25,000 each, and the remaining six finalists will be
awarded $1,000 each. Likewise, two phenomenal school principals will be awarded
$25,000, and the remaining two finalists will receive $1,000 each.

UWCI received an impressive 579 nominations. Of the
nominations, 474 represent teachers and 105 represent principals across 61 IPS
schools and programs.

IPS is proud of our inspiring teachers, principals and staff who go
above and beyond. Join us in cheering on all of the