The Indianapolis Board of School Commissioners held an organizational meeting to start the new year on January 6, 2015. At this meeting, new members were sworn in and Board officers were chosen by their fellow commissioners.

Commissioners Diane Arnold, Gayle Cosby, Caitlin Hannon and Sam Odle remain on the Board for the 2015 calendar year. They officially welcomed three new members at the organizational meeting:

  • Kelly Bentley, an Indianapolis consultant for Great Schools, is the new District 3 representative. She previously served on the IPS Board of Commissioners from 1999-2010.
  • LaNier Echols, a dean at Carpe Diem Meridian, is representing District 5. She was an IPS teacher from 2008-2011.
  • Mary Ann Sullivan is the new at-large commissioner. She served as a member of the Indiana House of Representatives from 2009-2012.

Diane Arnold was chosen by her fellow board members as President, with Sam Odle serving as Vice President. LaNier Echols will serve as Secretary.  Paul Carpenter-Wilson was appointed Treasurer for 2015.

We look forward to another year of growth and progress with the IPS Board of Commissioners!