Skip to content

Area scholars to be recognized Saturday

Eight scholars from Indianapolis Public Schools are among a group of 23 who are being honored Saturday, June 18 during the 2022 Achievement Awards and Youth Empowerment Breakfast hosted by the Indianapolis Professional Association (IPA).

“Celebrating our Community Scholars” is from 9-11 a.m. at the Indiana Interchurch Center, 1100 W. 42nd St. Graduating seniors from local school districts are being recognized for their achievements with a $500 book award during the program. The event will also honor other youth, adults and organizations that empower the young people of Indianapolis.

IPS students include:

  • Arsenal Technical High School: Aaliyah Barnet and Zion Adedipe.
  • Crispus Attucks High School: Amaiya Morris and Willie Mays.
  • Shortridge High School: Khanae Miller and Shawn Pyles.
  • Washington High School: Myranda Estes and Omowunmi Adebayo.

The keynote speaker will be Ind. Rep. Gregory W. Porter. He represents Indiana House District 96 and is the ranking Democrat on the Indiana House Ways and Means Committee.

Admission to the event is free to honorees, $25 for adults, and $15 for children 18 and younger. Complete this registration form if you plan to attend the awards and breakfast. Visit www.ipaindy.orgfor payment options.    IPA is a well-established, 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization promoting education, economic development, and networking in the community. Proceeds will be used to provide $500 book awards for the honorees.